Current location: Home - News Center - News Release

Sunpadow driver Alexander Hagberg crowned 1/12th scale World Champion

Time:2018-08-16 09:23:07

Originate:News Release

The 2018 IFMAR Electric On-road World Championships are held in Welkom, South Africa this week, hosted by the amazing Welkom RC Arena. The facility was built especially for the event and it is a true world-class one. The event kicked off with the 1/12th scale classes with an open Modified and supporting Stock 13.5T class being run at the event. Unfortunately only 29 entries were received for both categories, giving the feeling of a club race event with international participation. Despite the very low turnout racing was tight, however in the Modified it was Xray’s Alexander Hagberg who stood out by making a clean sweep in qualifying to take an easy overall TQ from Morotech’s Hideo Kitazawa and Xray’s Florian Joos.
In the opening two A-mains Alex confirmed his qualifying performance and after checking out early he brought home easy wins to take the 2018 World Championship title in his favourite class with a leg to spare. Sitting out A3 allowed Hideo Kitazawa, Florian Joos and Antonio Caroli to battle it out for the remaining podium spots with the better end for Japan’s Hideo who brought home the win in A3 for the overall runner-up spot as Florian took the final podium spot after coming in 2nd in the final A-main.


Previous page Return list Next page